Home General Knowledge MCQs General Knowledge and Solved MCQs about SAARC

General Knowledge and Solved MCQs about SAARC


Solved MCQs about SAARC and General Knowledge

This post contains Solved MCQs about SAARC which stands for South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. There is a detail of SAARC Summits which are held, SAARC Current Members country names, SAAR Secretaries General names and period as well as Solved MCQs.

SAARC Summits Detail

First1985Dhaka (Bangladesh)
Second1986Bangalore (India)
Third1987Kathmandu (Nepal)
Fourth1988Islamabad (Pakistan)
Fifth1990Male (Maldives)
Sixth1991Colombo (Sri Lanka)
Seventh1993Dhaka (Bangladesh)
Eighth1995New Dehli (India)
Nineteenth2016Islamabad (Pakistan)

SAARC Secretaries General

1Abu-al-AhsanJanuary 16, 1987 to 15, October 1989
2Kant Kishore BhargavaOctober 17, 1989 to December 31, 1993
3Ibrahim Hussain ZakiJanuary 1, 1992 to December 31, 1993
4Yadav Kant SilwalJanuary 1, 1994 to December 31, 1995
5Naeem U HasanJanuary 1, 1996 to December 31, 1998
6Nihal RodrigoJanuary 1, 1999 to January 10, 2002
7Q.A.M.A RahimJanuary 11, 2002 to February 28, 2005
8Lyonpo Chenkyab DrogiMarch 1, 2005 to February 29, 2008
9Sheel Kant SharmaMarch 1, 2008 to February 28, 2011
10Fathimath Dhiyana SaeedMarch 1, 2011 to January 22, 2012
11Ahmed SaleemMarch 12, 2012
12Amjad Hussain B Sial01, March 2017

SAARC Current Members

  1. Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
  2. People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  3. Kingdom of Bhutan
  4. Republic of India
  5. Republic of Maldives
  6. Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  7. Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  8. Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Important Solved MCQs About SAARC

1. Apart from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh who are the other member countries of SAARC?

(a) Nepal, Bhutan, Thailand and Singapore
(b) Nepal, Bhutan, Malaysia and Maldives
(c) Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan
(d) Nepal, Bhutan, Singapore and Sri Lanka

(c) Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan

2. SAARC was formed in Dhaka on ______________

(a) November 7, 1984
(b) October 3, 1985
(c) September 5, 1984
(d) December 8, 1985

(d) December 8, 1985

3. Which of the following is not the main purpose for formation of SAARC

(a) To Combat Terrorism
(b) To Promote the Welfare of the people of South Asia
(c) To form mutual defence against foreign aggression
(d) To accelerate economic growth and natural development

(c) To form mutual defence against foreign aggression

4. Which SAARC summit was held in Islamabad in 2004

(a) 5th
(b) 12th
(c) 3rd
(d) 6th

(b) 12th

5. First SAARC summit was held ln 1985 in ______

(a) Delhi
(b) Dhaka
(c) Kathmandu
(d) Colombo

(b) Dhaka

6. SAARC has its headquarters in _________________

(a) Kathmandu, Nepal
(b) New Delhi, India
(c) Dhaka, Bangladesh
(d) Colombo, Sri Lanka

(a) Kathmandu, Nepal

7. Which of following countries got observer status in SAARC

(a) Korea and China
(b) Russian and China
(c) Japan and China
(d) Thailand and Indonesia

(c) Japan and China

8. In acronym SAARC, “C” stands for _______________

(a) Committee
(b) Commonwealth
(c) Conference
(d) Cooperation

(d) Cooperation

9. Which of the following statements regarding SAARC countries is correct?

(a) All the countries with which India has borders are members of SAARC, Sri Lanka and the Maldives being islands
(b) Except Sri Lenin and Maldives, no other SAARC country has island as a part of its territory
(c) No SAARC country other than India has a common border With another member country, Sri Lanka and the Maldives being island
(d) Except Sri Lanka and the Maldives, all the SAARC countries have common border with China

(c) No SAARC country other than India has a common border With another member country, Sri Lanka and the Maldives being island

10. SAPTA is a trade agreement by _________________

(a) ASEAN Nations
(b) APEC Nations
(c) SAARC Nations
(d) EU Nations

(c) SAARC Nations

11. Name the first Secretary-General of SAARC

(a) Nazim Karim
(b) Abu-al-Ahsan
(c) Rafi Nizami
(d) None of them

(b) Abu-al-Ahsan

12. President of Maldives Mammoon Abdul Gayoom has attended fourteen SAARC summits besides him who has attended a maximum number of SAARC summits?

(a) King Jigme Singhe Wangchuk
(b) King Birendra Bin Bikram
(c) Prime Minister Girjia Prasad Koirala
(d) None of them

(a) King Jigme Singhe Wangchuk

13. 2010-2020 in the SAARC decade of____________

(a) The rights or the labour
(b) The rights of the women
(c) The rights of the child
(d) intra-regional Connectivity

(d) intra-regional Connectivity

14. In which year SAARC Law Commission was formulated?

(a) 1990
(b) 1991
(c) 1992
(d) 1993

(b) 1991

15. SAARC law was accorded recognition in which year?

(a) 1991
(b) 1992
(c) 1993
(d) 1994

(d) 1994

16. Who is the current secretary general of SAARC?

(a) Dr Sheel Kant Sharma
(b) Kumar Shrestha
(c) Abu-al-Ahsan
(d) Esala Ruwan Weerakoon

(d) Esala Ruwan Weerakoon (update on 10.04.2022)

17. Which country was a major donor in financing the SAARC?

(a) Pakistan
(b) Sri Lenka
(c) India
(d) Bangladesh

(b) Sri Lenka

18. The Seventeenth SAARC Summit was held from 10-11 of November 2011 in Addu City ________________

(a) Maldives
(b) Bhutan
(c) Nepal
(d) Sri Lenka

(a) Maldives

19. ______________SAARC Summit was cancelled, which was supposed to be held in Islamabad, Pakistan on 15-16 November 2016?

(a) 16th
(b) 15th
(c) 18th
(d) 19th

(d) 19th

20. The 19th SAARC Summit, which was postponed due to the URI Attacks was supposed to be held in which country?

(a) Pakistan
(b) Iran
(c) China
(d) India

(a) Pakistan

After checking these Solved MCQs about SAARC, you may also like Solved MCQs about NAM

General Knowledge About South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation with Solved MCQs | Multiple Choice Questions

All the questions and their answers are posted manually and carefully as on 18.02.2018. In case there is any update or if you find any mistake, you can Contact Us or tell us in the Comment.

Please Share it with your friends to encourage us providing Quality work for the knowledge seekers.

Load More In General Knowledge MCQs


  1. Aamir

    March 16, 2018 at 3:25 pm

    A Very good post about MCQs on SAARC. Especially the method of preparation is awesome with the hidden button.


  2. Mohd

    March 21, 2018 at 12:35 pm

    Question No16 answer is amjad Hussian Sail


    • admin

      March 21, 2018 at 12:55 pm

      Updated! Thank You for your concern.


  3. A.M Butt

    April 13, 2018 at 7:45 am

    A very good website with a lot of good general knowledge mcqs.


  4. Muhammad Iqbal Dar

    April 17, 2018 at 6:14 pm

    Q.No 18 correct answer is Maldives


    • admin

      April 18, 2018 at 6:46 am

      Thank you Dar Sb. Updated!



    April 10, 2022 at 2:21 pm

    Dear Q. 16 answer has been changed now Amjad Hussain B Sial is not Secretary General of SAARC . Current SG is Esala Ruwan Weerakoon


    • admin

      April 10, 2022 at 3:13 pm



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *